European Technology and Innovation Platform Bioenergy Steering Committee (SC)



About the Steering Committee >>

Committee Members >>

The ETIP Bioenergy Steering Committee

The Steering Committee (SC) is the decision making body and executive arm of the ETIP Bioenergy and directs all activities of the platform, being accountable for:

  • Defining the roles and responsibilities within the platform and outlining operations;
  • Compliance with the platform’s mission and related activities;
  • Approval and launching of activities: objectives, timing, scope;
  • Follow-up activities and approval of deliverables;
  • Setting high-level policy: coordination with external bodies and initiatives, communication and general organisation;

Final elaboration of key deliverables (e.g. the Strategic Research and Innovation Agenda) with active support from the Secretariat and ETIP Bioenergy-SABS, based on the contributions from the Working Groups, thus ensuring harmonization of content and integrity of messages.

The ETIP Bioenergy Steering Committee may have 20-25 members. It is expected to have a balanced composition with regard to members’ nationalities and stakeholder groups (to include representatives of all main industries involved as well as research establishments, academic research bodies, the civil society and other organisations with relevant expertise or interest on advanced biofuels and bioenergy).

Current Members of the SC are listed below. Members are appointed for a 3-year term and may be reappointed for one further term. Members serve in a personal capacity, offering both individual expertise and, when appropriate, representing the collective view of their stakeholder group, not specifically their own company or institute. A Chairperson and a maximum of three Vice-Chairs are elected by the Members of the SC on the basis of personal capacities and appropriate representation of stakeholders. These individuals serve for a 2-year period and may be reappointed. The membership of the SC and position of Chairperson and Vice-Chairs are voluntary and are not subject to remuneration.


Chair and Vice-Chairs


Patrik Klintbom
RISE Viktoria

Vice Chair

Antti Arasto
VTT Technical Research Centre of Finland Ltd



Mika Aho
St1 Nordic Oy
Purotie 1, Fl-00380 Helsinki, Finland

Eija Alakangas
ETIP Renewable Heating and Cooling
VTT Technical Research Centre of Finland Ltd Koivurannantie 1, Jyväskylä
P.O. Box 1603
Fl-40101 Jyväskylä, Finland

Nour Amrani
Novozymes office Brussels
Rue d'Arlon 25, 1000 Brussels, Belgium

Krzysztof Bajdor
Institute of Industrial Organic Chemistry/ Polish Biofuels Technology Platform
55 Jagiellonska St., 03-301 Warszawa, Poland

Juan Esteban Carrasco Garcia
EERA Bioenergy JP

Joanna Dupont-Inglis
EUROPABIO, The European Association of Bioindustries
Avenue de l'Armée 6, 1040 Brussels, Belgium

Anders Folkesson
Scania AB
Vagnmakarväge 1
15187 Södertälje, Sweden

Björn Fredriksson Möller
E.ON Gas Sverige AB
Nobelvägen 66
205 09 Malmö, Sweden

Gloria Gaupmann
Clariant Products (Germany) GmbH
Semmelweisstraße 1
82151 Planegg, Gernamy

Francisco Gírio
National Laboratory of Energy and Geology Portugal
Estrada do Paco do Lumiar, 22
1649-038 Lisboa

Jonas Helseth
Rue du Trône 61, 1050 Brussels, Belgium

Niels Henriksen
Ørsted A/S
Overgade 45, Skærbæk, 7000 Fredericia, Denmark

Marko Janhunen
FI-00100 Helsinki, Finland 

Nicolas Jeuland
Safran Group CR&T 
2, bd du Général Martial Valin, 75724 Paris Cedex 15, France

Markku Karlsson
Finnish Forestry Industries Federation

Petri Lehmus
Neste Oyj
P.O. Box 310, 06101 Porvoo, Finland

Oliver Lüdtke
Verbio Ethanol Schwedt GmbH & Co. KG
Passower Chaussee 111
16303 Schwedt/Oder 

Philippe Marchand
Total S.A.
2 plance Jean Milier La Defense 6
Courbevoie, 92400 

Nils-Olof Nylund
VTT Technical Research Centre of Finland

Ingrid Nyström
f3 Centre

Michael Persson
Danish Bioenergy Association, DI Energi
Kobenhagen V, Denmark

Anders Röj 
Volvo Technology 
06150 M1:6, 40508 Gothenburg, Sweden

Judit Sandquist
Strindveien 4, Trondheim, Norway

Eric Sievers
Pannonia Ethanol Zrt
Budapest, Zrínyi u. 16, H-1051, Hungary

Per Stefenson
Stena Teknik
405 19 Gothenburg, Sweden 

Björn Usadel 
Jülich Research Center
52425 Jülich, Germany
Forschungszentrum Jülich Phytosphere

Réne van Ree
Wageningen University & Research Centre
Food & biobased research 
P.O. Box 17, 6700 AA Wageningen, The Netherlands |

René Venendaal
BTG Biomass Technology Group
Josink Esweg 34
7545 PN Enschede, The Netherlands  

Jean Christophe Viguié
IFP Energies Nouvelles
1 & 4, avenue de Bois-Préau
92852 Rueil-Malmaison Cedex, France